You are here

Volunteers Donated 90,000 Hours; Are Honored at Luncheon

UMass Memorial Medical Center honored many of its volunteers on April 17 in observance of National Volunteer Week during a special luncheon held at the Beechwood Hotel. Long-time volunteers were recognized for their years and hours of service.

During this past year, 463 volunteers donated 90,000 hours, a significant savings to the Medical Center if employees were to assume volunteers’ duties. Volunteers fill many roles at University, Hahnemann, Memorial, Barre and Tri-River facilities including Cardiology, Pastoral Care, primary care clinics, Emergency Department, Child Life, Endoscopy, NICU, and ASK ME desks in medical offices.

“Volunteers are an essential part of the UMass Memorial hospital family,” said Jeff Smith, MD, JD, MMM, Interim president, UMass Memorial Medical Center. “Their primary goal is to make a trying experience as easy and pleasant as possible for our patients and their families. This annual luncheon is one small way to thank these amazing individuals who provide so much to our hospital community.”

Service Awards

40 years:

  • Ada Hoyer, Westborough

25 years:

  • Nancy Callender, Worcester

15 years:

  • Robert Hoover, Westborough

10 years:

  • Barbara Howarth, Boylston
  • Helen Estephan, North Grafton
  • Carlo Morrissey and Irene Dube, Worcester

5 years:

  • Theola Benedict, Arthur Blanchard, Joan Cirelli, Anne Hardake, Patricia Sirois and Bette Sanc, Barre
  • Se Woong Park, Boylston
  • Kevin Rice, Brighton
  • Renee Merolli, Douglas
  • Elizabeth Parker Gagne, Holden
  • Maureen Sullivan, Leicester
  • Maria Elena Ferrero, Northborough
  • Donna Happy, Oakham
  • Patricia DesRoches, Putnam
  • Lynne Ticho and Victoria Wang, Shrewsbury
  • Richard Agbay, Nancy Cantwell, Dorothy Gargolinski, Nancy Whalen, Nefiola Kaso, Barbara Kupfer, Diane Nelson and Susan Lee Phyfe, Worcester

Hours of Service

7,000 hours:

  • Dorothy Gargolinski and Richard Mangs, Worcester

3,500 hours:

  • Donna Perkins and Daniel Reynolds, Holden

2,000 hours:

  • Sergey Korkhov and Caitlin O’Reilly, Worcester

1,500 hours:

  • Claire Halvey and Zahra Khazal, Auburn
  • Susan Belfield, Boylston
  • Robyn Zalewski, Dudley
  • Margaret Metrik, and Spencer Schwartz, Shrewsbury
  • Ann Sabulis and Joseph Corrado, Worcester